Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Kickstarter Campaign Ahead!

And now for a serious note from the band: We've had an amazing launch and reaction to OUT OF THE DARKNESS and it's all thanks to you! We made an investment and put in the effort to bring the production upto top-quality modern standards with this album, and you have approved! THANK YOU! We will continue to tour and promote OUT OF THE DARKNESS this year, but we can't rest creatively and as many of you know... we have already started recording the next album!

We're working with producer Kevin "131" Gutierrez at Assembly Line Studios again, and promise you the same top-quality production with what we believe is even stronger material. Yesterday, Jesse completed his first bass session. We have now completed drums on 6 songs, rhythm guitar on 4 songs, and bass on 3 songs. As previously announced we've lined up a guest vocal by ex-Iron Maiden vocalist Blaze Bayley in a duet with Nina! We've also got at least one other exciting top-secret guest appearance locked in! We've started to pour the foundation for a great album, but we've got a lot of studio work left to do!

Even with all this great momentum, we've got to put work on the album on hold while we try to raise funds. OUT OF THE DARKNESS cost approximately $20,000 to produce, and the new album will cost the same. We haven't gotten our first sales report from Nightmare Records yet, and even though we know OUT OF THE DARKNESS sold well, in this age of illegal downloading we know that record sales won't even cover 50% of the production cost. We've had incredible support from Nightmare Records, but A SOUND OF THUNDER remains self-financed by the band members, and to be frank, there is a chance we won't be able to complete recording the new album without your help. Therefore, we're announcing that we'll be starting a Kickstarter campaign in the next few days. We won't be asking for charity, though. Every package will offer something of value, ranging from a simple pre-order of the CD (due early spring 2013), limited items offered only to our Kickstarter supporters, all the way up to opportunities to perform on the album, perform live with the band, appear in our music videos, and other once-in-a-lifetime fan experiences!

Keep watching this space for a link to our Kickstarter campaign...check out all the cool items and experiences that are available, and spread the word! With your support we'll make this album and take on the world together!

Sunday, April 1, 2012

Best Night EVER!!

We at the Thunder would like to thank everyone who made it to our show last night at Empire. It was seriously the best show we've ever done, not just because it was at such a great venue with great support and staff (seriously...) but because of the people there. What a great crowd!! You all made it worth the sweat and many many tears it took to get to the point we're at right now.

We also hit a milestone, today. That milestone is our 2k Facebook fan reach. THANKS SO MUCH TO ALL OUR NEW FANS! It was just a week ago we were talking about how cool it would be to hit 1,500... and now we're at 2k! We promised to do something special if we hit 2k fans, so we've decided to do just that.

We're releasing the track list of our new album!!http://www.blogger.com/img/blank.gif
We're already working on the new album, ladies and gentlemen. Next week we're going in for drums, and we'll be tracking drums until June. Exciting, yes?? We hope you have time to enjoy Out of the Darkness before this next one is released! (Which, achem, you can still purchase from Amazon and our label, Nightmare Records!)

And now... without further ado... the track list for album #3!!

Album 3: Untitled
Release Date: Unknown

1) Goth Prom
2) The Blood Vomit Polka - guest vocals by Weird Al Yankovic
3) Boromir's Vengeance
4) My Disease - guest vocals by Blaze Bayley
5) Suck It (Because You Like It You Dirty Filthy Whore Man)
6) Ascension of the Azure Unicorn
7) The Sorrows of Sadness
8) Discovery II (The Final Frontier)
9) Heeding the Glorious Quest of Templar Steel
10) Taco Diver

Friday, January 27, 2012

Out of the Darkness Announcements!!

Thanks for sticking around so long, Thunder fans! We finally have a press release to share with you, as well as a CD release show date, tour dates, and more!

Keep reading for all the info!

From Metal Underground

Less than a year after self-releasing the band's first album, "Metal Renaissance," A Sound of Thunder will now release a second full-length album, "Out of the Darkness," on March 27th, 2012. The 10 track album is being released through U.S. independent label Nightmare Records. The band's publicist issued the following press release:

"Relatively new faces in the metal world, A Sound of Thunder is fronted by powerful lead vocalist Nina Osegueda. Lead guitarist Josh Schwartz and drummer Chris Haren founded A Sound of Thunder in 2008. Nina joined in 2009, and was followed by bass and keyboard player, Jesse Keen, in 2010. In less than two years, A Sound of Thunder recorded and released an EP, a charity single benefiting the West Memphis Three, and a full length self-produced album. They have performed throughout the US, and opened for such high profile bands as Accept, Sabaton, Firewind, Primal Fear and Doro.

"Assembly Line Studio's multi-platinum award winning engineer and producer Kevin "131" Gutierrez (Shinedown, While Heaven Wept, Deceased) produced the album, providing a crisp, heavy, modern sound for the classic metal compositions. The 10 track album plays like a love letter to all that is metal, encompassing traditional heavy metal, modern power metal, prog and classic rock, with timeless songs that could have been written in 1971, 1991 or 2011.

"The songs for Out of the Darkness were written and arranged by Josh Schwartz and the rest of A Sound of Thunder, with lyrics written by Nina Osegueda and Chris Haren. Legendary Raven front-man John Gallagher also appears, performing a duet with Nina on the title track Out of the Darkness."

"John Gallagher was so awesome to work with," says Nina Osegueda of her experience with the legendary metal front man. "I learned a lot from him in the short time we were in the studio together, and I really respect his skills and experience which shine through on this track."

A Sound of Thunder will embark on a tour to support Out of the Darkness in the spring. Confirmed tour dates are below, with more to be confirmed soon:

March 31 - West Springfield, VA - Empire (formerly Jaxx) (Release Party)
April 14 - Frederick, MD - Krug's Place
May 14 - Des Moines, IA - Vaudeville Mews
May 15 - St. Paul, MN - Station 4 (with Sabaton)
May 18 - Joliet, IL - Mojoe's (Ragnarokkr Metal Apocalypse)
May 19 - Nashville, TN - TBD
May 21 - West Springfield, VA - Empire (formerly Jaxx) (with Sabaton)

The album's track listing is as follows:

01. The Day I Die (8:31)
02. The Night Witch (5:37)
03. Kill That Bitch (3:56)
04. Murderous Horde (5:56)
05. A Sound of Thunder (4:46)
06. Out of the Darkness (4:24)
07. Calat Alhambra (8:18)
08. Fight Until the End (6:29)
09. This Too Shall Pass (5:08)
10. Discovery (8:36)

Tickets for the album release party at Empire on March 31 are on sale now!

(For multiple tickets, please add the full name of everyone in the "notes" section so that your names will be added to the guest list in case you lose your ticket!)

International fans can pre-order the album via Nuclear Blast.
Click here to get your copy!